Our town

Welcome to Orsha! 

Acquaintance with the culture and history of the city begins right at the railway station – the largest railway junction and the «Eastern gate» of Belarus. The first wooden station building was built back in 1870 on the new Moscow-Brest railway line. A concrete two-story building was built on the site of the old one, which was periodically reconstructed in 1912 and received the status of historical and cultural value in 2007.

At the station square you can see a passenger locomotive of the P-36 series, which was installed of honor of the 40-th anniversary of the liberation of Belarus from Nazi invaders and this locomotive was intended to symbolize the labor exploits of Orsha railway workers.

The main attractions are located in the center of our town.

Walking alone the Street Lenin, which used to be called Petrogradskaya, you can easily find them. Across the street from the central Lenin Square is the Vladimir Korotkevich museum – a special place in memory of an outstanding man. His personal belongings, drawings, manuscripts of works and even unique voice recordings will help you to feel the whole atmosphere of the creative era and feel the spirit of the writer.

If you want to learn more about the history of the town you may visit the Museum of History and Culture of Orsha. Here you will be told in chronological order about all historical events from the time of the primitive communal system to the end of the 20th century. In front of the entrance of the Museum is a copy of an ancient Russian epigraphy monument of the 12th century - Rogvolodov Stone. The real stone, unfortunately, was blown up in order to build the Moscow-Minsk highway.

The road through the red brick century-old bridge will lead you to the ethnographic museum «Mlyn». This mill building was built in 1902. Today this museum is a reflection of the richest material and cultural heritage of Orsha region. In the museum you will see objects of Belorussian everyday life: equipment for processing flax, weaving items, towels, national costumes and the oldest exhibit of the museum – a grain mill, which our ancestors used in the 3rd century BC.

At the exit from the Museum, you will immediately see the Castle hill, and there is a memorial sign with the date of foundation of the city on it. Orsha was founded in 1067. Historians say that on the mountain was Orsha castle, built during the reign of Vytautas. The castle bravely withstood all the battles and military battles, constantly passing from the hands of the Moscow principality to the possession of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, but at the end of the 17th century it was completely destroyed, constantly passing from the hands of the Moscow principality to the possession of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, but at the end of the 17th century it was completely destroyed.

The domes of the Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. Michael's Church are clearly visible from the mountain. Next to them is the church of St. Joseph the Betrothed - one of the oldest buildings of the city (built in 1780-1808!). The church is famous for having a copy of a work of art of the Renaissance - the famous painting «The Battle of Orsha», the original of which is located in Warsaw.

When you walk along Sovetskaya Street, pay attention to how beautifully the bells of the Ilyinsky church shine in the sunset rays of the sun, which is located on the other bank of the Dnieper.

On the outskirts of Orsha you will find the Holy Trinity Epiphany Kuteinsky Monastery, built in 1620. Residents of Orsha call it simply - «Kuteinka». A printing press was founded at the monastery in 1630, the largest for that time in Belarus. It was here that Spiridon Sobol created the first «Primer» in the Belarusian language. Other books were published at the printing house, all of them beautifully decorated with hand-made engravings.

Along the favorite place of youth – parapets, located on the Dnieper embankment, the Jesuit Collegium, which has a very amazing history, stands majestically. It was considered one of the best educational institution in Belarus. A school theatre stayed by the Collegium and a collection of plays in it is stored in the Wroclaw Museum in Poland. During a visit to Orsha, Napoleon and Stendhal lived in collegium. Now here are located the children’s library of Korotkevich, Art Gallery V.A. Gromyko and the house of crafts.

You can relax in favorite place of children – the Fairy-tale Country Park, surrounded by a river, tall trees, carousels, the smell of cotton candy and the laughter of the children. There is also a monument to Vladimir Korotkevich.

It will not be easy to find the Museum of Wooden Sculpture S.S. Shavrova, located so far from the city center. Numerous works of master Shavrov are presented here. You can also see the real workshop of the famous carver.

For beautiful photos you can go to the expressive Palace of culture of the Flax mill.

There is one cinema «Pobeda» in Orsha, located in the Palace of culture «Pobeda» of the same name.

Orsha also has its own Ice Palace as in many cities in Belarus. Ice skating is a great way to spend time. You can also book a bowling alley.

Money

The national currency of the Republic of Belarus is the Belarusian Rubles.

You can exchange currency for Belarusian rubles at any bank branches or currency exchange offices. You can also exchange «Travel Cheques» in banks.

Phones

Emergency services:

101 - fire brigade

102 - police

103 - ambulance

104 - gas emergency service

Help, call and dispatch services:

114 - bus station reference

105 - railway information

106 - airline information

151 - pre-order railway tickets

153 - reference codes of countries and cities

171 - ordering long-distance and international calls

185 - infoline

188 - time answering machine

When you reach subscribers of the Republic of Belarus from other countries, the number « 0 « before the city code is not dialed!

Example:

the procedure for recruiting the city of Minsk from Belarus: 8 - 017 xxxxxxx

the procedure for recruiting the city of Minsk from other states: +375 17 xxxxxxx

Наш город

Добро пожаловать в Оршу!

Знакомство с культурой и историей города начинается прямо на вокзале – крупнейшем железнодорожном узле и «восточных воротах» Беларуси. Первое деревянное здание вокзала было построено еще в 1870 году на новой железнодорожной линии «Москва – Брест». В 1912 году на месте старого было построено бетонное двухэтажное здание, которое периодически достраивалось, реконструировалось, а в 2007 году получило статус историко-культурной ценности.

На привокзальной площади вы увидите пассажирский паровоз серии П-36, который был установлен в честь 40-летия освобождения Беларуси от немецко-фашистских захватчиков и призван был символизировать трудовые подвиги оршанских железнодорожников.

Основные достопримечательности расположены в центре города.

Гуляя по ул. Ленина, которая раньше называлась Петроградской, вы легко их найдете. Через дорогу от центральной площади Ленина находится Музей Владимира Короткевича – особое место памяти о выдающемся человеке. Ощутить всю атмосферу творческой эпохи и почувствовать дух писателя тебе помогут его личные вещи, рисунки, рукописи произведений и даже уникальные записи голоса.

Если хотите больше узнать об истории города, загляните в Музей истории и культуры Орши. Здесь вам в хронологическом порядке расскажут про все исторические события от времен первобытно-общинного строя до конца XX века. Перед входом в музей расположена копия древнерусского памятника эпиграфики XII века – Рогволодова камня. Настоящий камень, к сожалению, был взорван с целью строительства шоссе «Москва–Минск».

Дорога через красный кирпичный столетний мост приведет тебя к этнографическому музею «Млын». Это здание мельницы было построено в 1902 году. На сегодняшний день этот музей – отражение богатейшего материального и культурного наследия Оршанщины. В музее вы увидите предметы белорусского быта: оборудование для обработки льна, предметы ткачества, рушники, национальные костюмы и самый старый экспонат музея – зернотерку, которой пользовались наши предки еще в III веке до н. э.

На выходе из музея сразу же увидите Замковую гору, а на ней – памятный знак с датой основания города. Орша была основа в 1067 году. Историки утверждают, что на горе находился Оршанский замок, построенный во время правления Витовта. Замок мужественно выдерживал все битвы и военные сражения, постоянно переходя из рук Московского княжества во владения ВКЛ, но в конце XVII века был полностью разрушен.

С горы хорошо видны купола церкви Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы  и Михайловской церкви. Рядом с ними находится костел святого Иосифа Обручника  – одно из старинных зданий города (1780-1808 года постройки!). Костел знаменит тем, что здесь хранится копия произведения искусства эпохи Возрождения –  известной картины «Битва под Оршей», оригинал которой находится в Варшаве.

Когда будешь гулять вдоль улицы Советской, обрати внимание, как красиво блестят в закатных лучах солнца колокола Ильинской церкви , которая расположена на другом берегу Днепра.

На окраине Орши вас ждет Свято-Троицкий Богоявленский Кутеинский монастырь , построенный в 1620 году. Жители Орши называют его просто – «Кутеинка». В 1630 году при монастыре была основана типография, крупнейшая для того времени в Беларуси. Именно здесь Спиридон Соболь создал первый «Букварь» на белорусском языке. В типографии издавали и другие книги, все они были красиво декорированы гравюрами ручной работы.

Вдоль любимого места молодежи – парапетов, расположенных на набережной Днепра, величественно стоит Иезуитский коллегиум , имеющий весьма удивительную историю. Он считался одним из лучших учреждений образования Беларуси. При коллегиуме располагался школьный театр, а сборник изданных в нем пьес сейчас хранится в музее Вроцлава в Польше. Во время визита в Оршу в коллегиуме жили Наполеон и Стендаль. Сейчас здесь расположены детская библиотека им. Короткевича, Оршанская городская художественная галерея В.А. Громыко и дом ремесел.

Отдохнуть можно в любимом месте детей – парке «Сказочная страна» окруженном рекой, высокими деревьями, каруселями, запахом сладкой ваты и смехом ребят. Здесь же находится и памятник Владимиру Короткевичу.

Сходу непросто будет найти Музей деревянной скульптуры С.С. Шаврова так далеко расположенный от центра города. Здесь представлены многочисленные работы мастера Шаврова. Вы также сможете увидеть настоящую мастерскую знаменитого резчика.

За красивыми фотографиями отправляйтесь в выразительный Дворец культуры Льнокомбината.

В Орше один кинотеатр «Победа» расположенный в одноименном Дворце культуры «Победа».

Как и во многих городах Беларуси, в Орше тоже есть свой Ледовый Дворец. Катание на коньках – отличный способ времяпровождения. Также можно заказать себе дорожку в боулинге. 

ДЕНЬГИ

Национальная валюта Республики Беларусь — белорусский рубль.

Обмен валюты на белорусские рубли можно совершить в отделениях любых банков или в пунктах обмена валюты. В банках также можно обменять «Трэвел-чеки».

ТЕЛЕФОНЫ

Службы экстренной помощи: 
101 - пожарная охрана 
102 - милиция
103 - скорая помощь
104 – аварийная служба газа

Справочные, дежурные и диспетчерские службы: 
114 - справочная автовокзала 
105 - справочная железной дороги 
106 - справочная авиалиний 
151 - предварительный заказ железнодорожных билетов 
153 - справка кодов стран и городов 
171 - заказ междугородных и международных разговоров 
185 - инфолиния 
188 - автоответчик времени

При выходе к абонентам Республики Беларусь из других государств цифра «0» перед кодом города не набирается!

Пример: 
порядок набора города Минска из Беларуси: 8 - 017 xxxxxxx 
порядок набора города Минска из других государств: +375 17 xxxxxxx